Youth Competitors Increase As Wrestling Season Continues

As the youth wrestling season continues to mature, a growing number of youth wrestlers in the Governor Wrestling program compete at local tournaments throughout South "With Dakota eight tournaments held in the state this past weekend, we had wrestlers from our program compete in at least six of them" said Trevor Wiebe, youth club president. "We expect to hit a peak next weekend when we host our



Lincoln Dilges finishes a pinning combination on his Gettysburg opponent during the opening round of wrestling at the Gettysburg Youth Wrestling Tournament over the weekend.

Pierre Invitational, when wrestlers from beginners to advanced division will finally take the mat together in one gym."

Over this past weekend 48 wrestlers from the Governor Youth Program competed resulting in 20 individual champions and 15 The tournament in runner-up finishes. Whitewood on Saturday January 18^{th} produced some of the toughest competition over the weekend as more than 500 wrestlers from three states competed at the tournament held in Sturgis. Jayden Wiebe, Hayden Shaffer, Hudson Shaffer, and Gavin Stotts each finished first at this event along with runner-up finishes by Brady Getz and Jacoby Taylor, and a fourth place finish by Spencer Taylor. Each of these wrestlers also competed in Rapid City at the Westside Youth Wrestling Tournament on Sunday with similar results.

Tournaments in DeSmet, Huron, and Mitchell attracted 17 wrestlers on Sunday. "Huron represents a lot of region matchups for our kids, which makes that tournament a good preview of what you will see in March," said Paul Turman, advanced group coach. "Our more experienced kids had success there which says we are working on the right things in practice for this point in the season." Across the three tournaments nine champions (Rylan Shrake, Jacob Larson, Nathan Williams, Noah Williams, Andrew Snyder, Will Van Camp, Maguire Raske, Broch Zeeb, Cade Hinkle) were crowned, followed by two runner-up (Tyson Johnson, Jack Van Camp), a third place (Bryant Zeeb) and four third place finishes (Cael Shrake, Tyrone Oldenkamp, Samuel Larson, and Matthew King).

The clubs strongest showing was at the tournament in Gettysburg hosted by their youth program on Sunday following their high school invitational on Saturday. Twenty-four wrestlers participated at this tournament. "We say many of our first year wrestlers use this tournament as a great opportunity to compete for the first time over the weekend," said Wiebe. "The bracketing structure used there serves as a great introduction to the sport and it prepares kids to the more difficult district style bracketing that we employ at our Pierre Invitational this coming weekend." The Governors produced six champions (Carson Stoeser, Kenyon Kuiper, Daniel Mason, Jacob Mason, Matthew Hostler, and Gabe Turman) at the tournament along with seven (Elijah Boutchee, runner-ups Tristan Spencer, Evan McFarling, Alex Oedekoven, Steven Fullerton, Spencer Easland, Ridge nine third place Leimbach), (Travis Boddicker, Damen Horsley, Simon Addison, Wesley Harsma, Kylen Horsley, Caynen Carr, Wesley Harsma, Lincoln Dilges, Walker West). and two fourth place (Marcus Hutchinson, Jaxon finishers Ducheneaux).

Approximately 400 wrestlers are expected to travel to Pierre on Sunday to compete in the Pierre Invitational, which follows the East vs. West Dual tournament scheduled for Saturday starting at 11:00. Individual results from Governor Youth Wrestlers this past weekend include:

Whitewood

Hayden Shaffer - 1st Hudson Shaffer - 1st Gavin Stotts - 1st Jayden Wiebe - 1st Brady Getz - 2nd Jacoby Taylor - 2nd Spencer Taylor - 4th

Gettysburg

Carson Stoeser - 1st Kenyon Kuiper - 1st Daniel Mason - 1st Jacob Mason - 1st Matthew Hostler - 1st Gabe Turman - 1st Elijah Boutchee - 2nd Tristan Spencer - 2nd Evan McFarling $- 2^{nd}$ Alex Oedekoven $- 2^{nd}$ Steven Fullerton $- 2^{nd}$ Spencer Easland $- 2^{nd}$ Ridge Leimbach - 2nd Travis Boddicker $- 3^{rd}$ Damen Horsley $- 3^{rd}$ Simon Addison $- 3^{rd}$ Wesley Harsma $- 3^{rd}$ Kylen Horsley $- 3^{rd}$ Caynen Carr - 3rdWesley Harsma - 3rdWesley Harsma - 3rdUincoln Dilges $- 3^{rd}$ Walker West $- 3^{rd}$ Marcus Hutchinson $- 4^{th}$ Jaxon Ducheneaux $- 4^{th}$

Huron/DeSmet

Rylan Shrake – 1st Jacob Larson - 1st Nathan Williams - 1st Noah Williams - 1st Andrew Snyder - 1st Tyson Johnson - 2nd Samuel Larson - 3rd Cael Sharke – 3rd Tyrone Oldenkamp - 3rd Colton Cass - 5th

Mitchell

Will Van Camp - 1st Maguire Raske - 1st Cade Hinkle -1^{st} Brock Zeeb -1^{st} Jack Van Camp - 2nd Matthew King - 3^{rd} Bryant Zeeb -3^{rd}

Rapid City Westside

Brady Getz - 1st Hayden Shaffer - 2nd Hudson Shaffer - 2nd Jacoby Taylor - 2nd Gavin Stotts - 2nd Spencer Taylor - 4th