Record 63 Pierre Youth Wrestlers Advance to State

At total of 95 wrestlers from the Pierre Youth Wrestling program competed in the Region 2 Youth Wrestling Tournament held in Pierre on Saturday March 9th. Wrestlers from around the area competed in the event, which coincided with competition at four other region tournaments held throughout the state. The top three wrestlers from each age division and weight class advance to the State Tournament held in Brookings this Saturday and Sunday.

This year, the Pierre program advanced a record 63 wrestlers on to the state tournament. This included 30 region

champions, 16 second place finishers, and 17 third/fourth place finishers. Paul Turman, president of the youth program, noted that "When we looked at the results last year and found out we had sent 56 wrestlers there was a thought that number would be very hard to beat. We had beaten the previous record of 49 qualifiers, and to take 63 wrestlers to state is a clear sign of the depth that we have in the youth program right now." Of the 16 runner-up finishes, Pierre had eight wrestlers that lost to club members in their championship round. The 40lb tots advanced all three wrestlers from Pierre (Jacoby Taylor, Jacob Mason, & Alex Oedekoven). "When you have the opportunity to wrestle against a region champion ever day in practice it provides



State qualifiers from the Pierre Youth Wrestling program include: Front Row; Jacoby Taylor, Alex Oedekoven, Carson Stoeser, Lincoln Dilges, Brady Miller, Andrew Snyder, Rylan Shrake, Will Van Camp, Jayden Wiebe, Jett Zabel, Kahlor Hindman, Cade Hinkle, Preston Dyk, Gavin Stotts, Blake Judson, Gabe Turman, Noah Williams, Trey Lewis, Matthew Hostler, Ethan Martinmaas, Hudson Shaffer, Keith Gorham, Jacob Mason. Middle Row: Jace Bench-Bresher, Tristen Nemec, Brady Getz, Wesley Harsma, Matthew Lusk, Lee Snyder, Justyce Murphy, Grant Judson, William Turman, Austin Senger, Spencer Davis, Logan Meyer, Michael Lusk, Maguire Raske, Lincoln Turman, Harlan Stotts, Jack Van Camp, Jacob Larson, Tyson Johnson, Hayden Shaffer. Back Row: Grey Zabel, Pryce Dyk, Easton Swartz, DJ Highbear, Spencer Sarringar, Zach Rounds, Garrett Leesman, Lucas Stoltenburg, Levi Stoltenburg, Ty Paulsen, Wyatt Leesman, Skyler Leesman, Cadin Buchholz, Jebben Keyes, Ethan Heath, Aric Williams, Lucas Kessler, Gage Gehring, & Gunner Gehring (Missing is Quinn Reimer).

such an advantage when you find yourself in the post season" said Jammie Raske, advanced group coach for the Pierre program. "As I looked at the state brackets, there are a number of weight classes where I anticipate Pierre wrestling against teammates in the finals. We have competed regionally and nationally all year long and I firmly I believe that our kids will be comfortable wrestling at this level come Saturday."

The wrestling club has consistently taken approximately 50 wrestlers to the state tournament during the past eight years and constantly returns with a large number of state finalists. This past year, of the 56 state qualifiers a total of 38 placed at the state tournament, with 16 advancing to the state finals and 8 individual champions. Ryan Noyes, head high school wrestling coach, commented that "When one considers the success that our high school team has had over the past two years; it is evident that the sport of wrestling has a very promising future in Pierre for quite some time to come."

Region champions from the Pierre Program advancing to the state tournament include Jacoby Taylor, Carson Stoeser, Keith Gorham, Ethan Martinmaas, Matthew Hostler, Jett Zabel, Gavin Stotts, Gabe Turman, Blake Judson, Jayden Wiebe, Hayden Shaffer, Tyson Johnson, Jacob Larson, Will Van Camp, Jace Bench-Bresher, Cade Hinkle, Jack Van Camp, Maguire Raske, Spencer Davis, Grey Zabel, Will Turman, Michael Lusk, Aric Williams, Cayden Buchholz, Lucas Kessler, Pryce Dyk, Easton Swartz, Spencer Sarringar, Jebben Keyes, Lucas Stoltenberg, and Wyatt Leesman

Wrestling begins on Saturday morning at 8:00 for the younger wrestlers,

and then the older kids wrestle starting at 2:00. Those placing at the tournament will compete on Sunday in the placing round. Individual place winners for all six age divisions include:

Tots

- 1. Jacoby Taylor -1^{st}
- 2. Jacob Mason -2^{nd}
- 3. Alex Oedekoven -3^{rd}
- 4. Carson Stoeser -1^{st}
- 5. Hudson Shaffer 2^{nd}
- 6. Lincoln Dilges 3rd

Bantam

- Keith Gorham 1st
 Ethan Martinmaas 1st
 Matthew Hostler 1st
 Andrew Snyder 3rd
 Trey Lewis 3rd
 Jett Zabel 1st
 Gavin Stotts 1st
- 14. Rylan Shrake -2^{nd}

Midgets

15. Gabe Turman -1^{st} 16. Blake Judson -1^{st} 17. Noah Williams -2^{nd} 18. Jayden Wiebe -1^{st} 19. Kahlor Hindman -2^{nd} 20. Hayden Shaffer -1^{st} 21. Brady Miller -3^{rd} 22. Tyson Johnson -1^{st} 23. Brady Getz -3^{rd} 24. Jacob Larson -1^{st}

Novice

25. Will Van Camp -1^{st} 26. Preston Dyk -2^{nd} 27. Tristen Nemec -4^{th} 28. Jace Bench-Bresher -1^{st} 29. Matthew Lusk -2^{nd} 30. Cade Hinkle -1^{st} 31. Jack Van Camp -1^{st} 32. Maguire Raske -1^{st} 33. Lee Snyder - 4th
34. Spencer Davis - 1st
35. Grant Judson - 2nd
36. Wesley Harsma - 4th
37. Grey Zabel - 1st
38. Harlen Stotts - 4th
39. Justyce Murphy - 2nd
40. Gunner Gehring - 4th

Schoolboy

41. Will Turman – 1st
 42. Michael Lusk – 1st
 43. Lincoln Turman – 2nd
 44. Logan Meyer – 3rd
 45. Austin Senger – 2nd
 46. Aric Williams – 1st
 47. Garrett Leesman – 3rd
 48. Cadin Buchholz – 1st

49. DJ HighBear – 2nd 50. Lucas Kessler – 1st 51. Gage Gehring – 3rd 52. Pryce Dyk – 1st 53. Easton Swartz – 1st

Cadets

- 54. Ethan Heath -3^{rd} 55. Spencer Sarringar -1^{st} 56. Jebben Keyes -1^{st} 57. Zach Rounds -3^{rd} 58. Skyler Leesman -2^{nd} 59. Lucas Stoltenberg -1^{st} 60. Wyatt Leesman -1^{st} 61. Levi Stoltenberg -2^{nd} 62. Quinn Reimers -2^{nd}
- 63. Ty Paulsen -3^{rd}