85 Pierre Wrestlers Advance to Regions

This past weekend, potential members of the future Governor wrestling program took their first step toward a successful state tournament performance as they competed in the High School Coaches District Association 3 Wrestling tournament in Ft. Pierre on Saturday March 2nd. A total of 85 Pierre wrestlers, across 5 age divisions, will advance to the Region tournament held in Pierre on Saturday March 9th.



Pierre youth wrestler Jacoby Taylor works for a pin against his Ft. Pierre opponent during the first round of the District 3 tournament in Ft. Pierre. Taylor placed first at the event.

The Pierre program produced a total of 37 champions (representing 57% of all titles awarded), along with 17 second place and 10 third place finishers at the event. Each weight class advances eight wrestlers to the region tournament to compete against regional competition from District 4. Those placing in the top three at regions will advance to the state tournament held in Brookings on March 23th and 24th.

Individual district champions for the Pierre Wrestling program include Jacoby Taylor. Carson Stoeser, Keith Gorham, Matthew Hostler, Trey Lewis, Jett Zabel, Gavin Stotts, Gabe Turman, Blake Judson, Jayden Wiebe, Hayden Shaffer, Ayden Anderson, Tyson Johnson, Brady Getz, Jacob Larson, Matthew King, Will Van Camp, Preston Dyk, Jace Bench-Bresher, Cade Hinkle, Jack Van Camp, Maguire Raske, Spencer Davis, Grant Judson, Grey Zabel, Justyce Murphy, Gunnar Gehring, Will Turman, Michael Lusk, Logan Meyer, Austin Senger, Aric Williams, D.J. High Bear, Garrett Leesman, Lucas Kessler, Gage Gehring, Pryce Dyk, and Easton Swartz.

"In a number of these weight classes we had runner-up finishes where Pierre wrestlers lost in the championship match to club members," said Paul Turman, Pierre youth wrestling president. "Of the 17 runner-ups there were 14 that lost out to Pierre wrestlers, and there were four of the ten third place finishers in weight classes where Pierre club members took first and second." Runner-up finishes included. Hudson Shaffer, Owen Sivage, Andrew Snyder, Spencer Easland, Nicholas Murphy, Rylan Shrake, Noah Williams, Shawn Van Liere, Brady Miller, Steven Fullerton, Matthew Lusk, Wesley Harsma, Harlan Quilt, Lincoln Turman, Austin Nadeau, Klarence Nichols, Cadin Buchholz, and Zane Zilverberg.

Turman indicated that "Our program has advanced the largest number of wrestlers to the state youth tournament for the past decade. With almost 50 wrestlers advancing it is often twice as many as some of the other big programs in the state like Rapid City, Sturgis, and Aberdeen. We are looking toward a similar performance out of our kids this year as well." Individual



XXX, member of the Pierre youth wrestling program, attempts to cradle up his Lyman County opponent as he works toward a third place finish this past weekend at the District 3 tournament held in Ft. Pierre.

performances for Pierre Youth Wrestlers this past weekend include:

District Champions

Jacoby Taylor Carson Stoeser Keith Gorham Matthew Hostler Trey Lewis Jett Zabel **Gavin Stotts** Gabe Turman Black Judson Jayden Wiebe Hayden Shaffer Ayden Anderson Tyson Johnson Brady Getz Jacob Larson Matthew King Will Van Camp Preston Dyk Jace Bench-Bresher Cade Hinkle

Jack Van Camp Maguire Raske Spencer Davis Grant Judson Grey Zabel Justyce Murphy Gunnar Gehring William Turman Michael Lusk Logan Meyer Austin Senger Aric Williams D.J. High Bear Garrett Leesman Lucas Kessler Gage Gehring Pryce Dyk Easton Swartz

District Runner-Up

Owen Sivage Hudson Shaffer Andrew Snyder Spencer Easland Nicholas Murphy Rylan Shrake Noah Williams Shawn Van Liere Brady Miller Steven Fullerton Matthew Lusk Wesley Harsma Harlan Quilt Lincoln Turman Austin Nadeau Klarence Nichols Cadin Buchholz Zane Zilverberg

Colton Casss

Seventh Place Zayden Rounds Samuel Larson

Eighth Place Damen Horsley

Third Place

Ethan Martinmaas Tristan Spencer Tyson Nemec Kahlor Hindman Zachary Oldenkamp Tristen Nemec Lee Snyder Samuel Slocum Matthew Rounds Alex Odekoven Aiden Heathcote

Fourth Place

Ridge Leimbach Elijah Boutchee Nathan Williams Spencer Taylor Paul Heth Gabe High Bear Lincoln Dilges

Fifth Place

Jayce Anderson Kylen Horsley Tyrone Oldenkamp Jacob Mason Lincoln Shoenhard

Sixth Place

Brayden Houlette Caynen Carr