Wrestlers Compete Well in Closing Weeks of Regular Season

Following the Big Dakota Wrestling tournament this past weekend, the Ft. Pierre wrestling club hosted their vouth wrestling annual tournament with close to 300 local wrestlers competing in the event. A total of 67 wrestlers from the Pierre Youth Wrestling program wrestled at the tournament on Sunday February 3rd, with a total of 19 individual champions crowned at the event. Paul youth Turman. Pierre club president wrestling



Blake Judson, Pierre youth wrestling club member (pictured in the red South Dakota singlet) elevates his Mt. Vernon opponent for a takedown at the Plankinton Youth Wrestling Tournament. Judson went on to place first at the event.

noted "The Ft. Pierre program always pulls off a nice tournament and attracts a large number of kids from programs like Phillip, Rapid City, and Wall that we often don't get to see until the state tournament. We often find ourselves wrestling kids from our own club in many of the brackets, but the chance to wrestling a variety of other kids from around the state can be very rewarding."

Individual champions at the Ft. Pierre tournament included Jacob Mason, Jacoby Taylor, Hudson Shaffer, Hayden Shaffer, Lincoln Schoenhard, Andrew Snyder, Garrett Leesman, DJ HighBear, Spencer Davis, Gunner Gehring, Steven Fullerton, Tyson Johnson, Noah Williams, Noah Williams, Gavin Stotts, Matthew Hostler, Nicholas Murphy, and Rylan Shrake.

The 20 runner-ups at the event included Alex Oedekoven, Caleb Morris, Carson Stoeser, Kenyon Kuiper, Caynen Carr, Jett Zabel, Keith Gorham, Spencer Easland, Tristan Spencer, Sam Slocum, Ayden

Anderson, Brady Getz, Jeremiah Church, Mason Dell, Tyson Nemec, Gabe HighBear, Harlen Stotts, Justvee Murphy, Cadin Buchholz, and Pryce Dyk. A number of other wrestlers also placed third (Zayden Rounds, Damen Horsley, Owen Sivage, Brayden Houlette, Cole Rank, Elijah Boutchee. Jayce Anderson, Ridge Leimbach, Logan Meyer, Matt Rounds, Easton Swartz, Gage Gehring, Lee Snyder, Tyrone Nemec. Oldenkamp, Tristen Matthew King, Shawn Van Liere, Spencer Taylor) and fourth at the tournament (Cotton Cass, Dale Balfany, Cayden Morris, Gabriel Laroque, Isaac Gilk, Thomas Stobbe, Kylen Zachary Oldenkamp, Wesley Horsley, Harsma, Klarence Nichols).

In other action around the state, a number of Pierre club members also travelled to Plankinton on Sunday February 2nd, and Faulkton on Saturday February 1st resulting in a significant number of individual champions at these two events. John Lusk, Pierre youth wrestling vice president stated that "As we get further into the season we start to see a handful of our wrestlers traveling to a variety of tournaments hosted by other clubs outside our regions to take advantage of key matchups that they are likely to face once the postseason arrives. Faulkton provides a great look at district two competition, and Plankinton has always attracted a large number of region three A sizable number of individual clubs." championships were awarded at these two events with tournament titles earned by Blake Judson, Jayden Wiebe, Gabe Turman, Will Turman, Lincoln Turman, Cade Hinkle, Will Van Camp, Jack Van Camp, Preston Dyk, and Tyson Johnson. All the remaining wrestlers earned runner-up finishes in their divisions including Maguire Raske, Jacob Larson, Samuel Larson.

The next two weeks will provide an opportunity for club members to compete at the remainder of the regular season tournaments. Wrestlers will head to Gillette, Wyoming this weekend for the Wild Wild West Championships, as well as tournaments in Sturgis, Lemmon, Rapid City, Watertown, Custer, and Bon Homme.

Ft. Pierre Invitational

Jacob Mason 1st Jacoby Taylor 1st Hudson Shaffer 1st Lincoln Schoenhard 1st Andrew Snyder 1st Garrett Leesman 1st DJ HighBear 1st Spencer Davis 1st Gunner Gehring 1st Steven Fullerton 1st Tyson Johnson 1st Noah Williams 1st Gavin Stotts 1st Matthew Hostler 1st Nicholas Murphy 1st Rvlan Shrake 1st Nathan Williams 1st

Hayden Shaffer 1st Alex Oedekoven 2nd Caleb Morris 2nd Carson Stoeser 2nd Kenyon Kuiper 2nd Caynen Carr 2nd Jett Zabel 2nd Keith Gorham 2nd Spencer Easland 2nd Tristan Spencer 2nd Sam Slocum 2nd Ayden Anderson 2nd Brady Getz 2nd Jeremiah Church 2nd Mason Dell 2nd Tyson Nemec 2nd Gabe HighBear 2nd Harlen Stotts 2nd Justyee Murphy 2nd Cadin Buchholz 2nd Pryce Dyk 2nd Zayden Rounds 3rd Damen Horsley 3rd Owen Sivage 3rd Brayden Houlette 3rd Cole Rank 3rd Elijah Boutchee 3rd Jayce Anderson 3rd Ridge Leimbach 3rd Logan Meyer 3rd Matt Rounds 3rd Easton Swartz 3rd Gage Gehring 3rd Lee Snyder 3rd Tristen Nemec 3rd Tyrone Oldenkamp 3rd Matthew King 3rd Shawn Van Liere 3rd Spencer Taylor 3rd Cotton Cass 4th Dale Balfanv 4th Cayden Morris 4th Gabriel Laroque 4th Isaac Gilk 4th Thomas Stobbe 4th Kylen Horsley 4th

Zachary Oldenkamp 4th Wesley Harsma 4th Klarence Nichols 4th

Plankinton & Faulkton

Blake Judson 1st Jayden Wiebe 1st Gabe Turman 1st Lincoln Turman 1st Will Turman 1st Cade Hinkle 1st Will Van Camp 1st Jack Van Camp 1st Preston Dyk 1st Tyson Johnson 1st Maguire Raske 2nd Jacob Larson 2nd Samuel Larson 2nd

