PierreYouthWrestlersContinueActionintoFourthWeek of Competition

As the youth wrestling season continued into its fourth week of competition, members of the Pierre youth wrestling program competed in seven tournaments throughout the state, producing a total of 30 individual champions.

The closest action for the local youth wrestlers was in Onida on Friday January 25, were 30 wrestlers competed in their annual youth tournament. More than half of the Pierre wrestlers were champions in

their weight and age divisions including Andrew Snyder, Hudson Shaffer, Aiden Heathcote, Ethan Martinmaas, Gavin Stotts, Hayden Shaffer, Jace Bench-Bresher, Justyce Murphy, Matthew Hostler, Nicholas Murphy, Spencer Davis, Trey Lewis, Tyler Johnson, Tyson Johnson, Tyson Nemec and Garrett Leesman. Seven runner up finishes were also produced including Brady Miller, Easton Swartz, Elijah Boutchee, Jett Zabel, Lincoln Shoenhard, Matthew King, and Matthew Rounds. A number of other wrestlers also placed either third (Mason Dell, Ridge Leimbach, Thomas Stobbe, and Wesley Harsma) or fourth at the event (Colton Cass, Robert Arnold, and Tristen "We traditionally have a good Nemec). showing at this tournament each year and having it on Friday night makes it easy for many of our kids to then also compete at a number of other tournaments throughout the state on the same weekend" said Paul Turman, Pierre Youth Wrestling president.

A series of other tournaments in Wagner, Wessington Springs, Aberdeen, Brookings, and Desmet also drew wrestlers from around



Pierre Youth Wrestling club member, Zayden Rounds works to turn his Ft. Pierre opponent.

At these five events Pierre the area. produced eight individual champions (Jacob Mason, Jacoby Taylor, Mason Dell, Matthew Hostler, Jacob Larson, Cade Hinkle, and Nathan Williams) and runner ups (Spencer Easland, Tristan Spencer, and Noah Williams). Spencer Taylor, Rylan Shrake, and Samual Larson each all placed at one of these events. Jammie Raske, advanced group coach noted, "It's the right time in the season for our kids to start traveling around the state to face some different competition. With the postseason just under a month away, these additional tournaments provide a great opportunity to see how we match up with wrestlers from those regions we normally only see at the state tournament."

Finally, Sunday January 27 also provided for wrestling at the annual Highmore youth tournament where 19 Pierre wrestlers competed. Individual champions were Aiden Heathcote, Carson Stoeser, Lincoln Schoenhard, Matthew Rounds, Sam Slocum, and Tyson Johnson. A number of other wrestlers placed second (Garrett Leesman, Tyrone Oldenkamp, Tyson Nemec), third (Jayce Anderson, Matthew King, Ridge Leimbach, Spencer Davis, Tristen Nemec, Zachary Oldenkamp) and fourth (Robert Arnold, Tyler Johnson). Participation

Action will continue this coming weekend as Pierre will field at team at the Plankinton K-6 Youth Dual tournament on Saturday. The majority of wrestlers will compete at the Ft. Pierre invitational tournament on February 3<sup>rd</sup>, or travel to Faulkton or Redfield for district four level competition. Individual results for all Pierre Youth Wrestling members include:

## Onida

Andrew Snyder  $-1^{st}$ Hudson Shaffer – 1<sup>st</sup> Aiden Heathcote – 1<sup>st</sup> Ethan Martinmaas – 1<sup>st</sup> Gavin Stotts  $-1^{st}$ Hayden Shaffer – 1<sup>st</sup> Jace Bench-Bresher – 1<sup>st</sup> Justyce Murphy  $-1^{st}$ Matthew Hostler – 1<sup>st</sup> Nicholas Murphy – 1<sup>st</sup> Spencer Davis – 1<sup>st</sup> Trey Lewis – 1<sup>st</sup> Tyler Johnson –  $1^{st}$ Tyson Johnson – 1<sup>st</sup> Tyson Nemec  $-1^{st}$ Garrett Leesman – 1<sup>st</sup> Brady Miller – 2<sup>nd</sup> Easton Swartz –  $2^{nd}$ Elijah Boutchee –  $2^{nd}$ Jett Zabel – 2<sup>nd</sup> Lincoln Shoenhard  $-2^{nd}$ Matthew King  $-2^{nd}$ Matthew Rounds  $-2^{nd}$ Mason Dell  $-3^{rd}$ Ridge Leimbach – 3<sup>rd</sup> Thomas Stobbe – 3<sup>rd</sup> Wesley Harsma – 3<sup>rd</sup> Colton Cass – 4<sup>th</sup>

Robert Arnold  $-4^{th}$ Tristen Nemec -4th

## Wagner & Wessington Springs

Jacob Mason  $-1^{st}$ Jacoby Taylor  $-1^{st}$ Mason Dell  $-1^{st}$ Matthew Hostler  $-1^{st}$ Spencer Easland  $-2^{nd}$ Tristan Spencer  $-2^{nd}$ Spencer Taylor  $-3^{rd}$ Rylan Shrake  $-4^{th}$ 

## Aberdeen, Brookings & Desmet

Jacob Larson  $-1^{st}$ Cade Hinkle  $-1^{st}$ Andrew Snyder  $-1^{st}$ Nathan Williams  $-1^{st}$ Noah Williams  $-2^{nd}$ Samual Larson -4th

## Highmore

Aiden Heathcote – 1<sup>st</sup> Carson Stoeser  $-1^{st}$ Lincoln Schoenhard – 1<sup>st</sup> Matthew Rounds  $-1^{st}$ Sam Slocum – 1<sup>st</sup> Tyson Johnson – 1<sup>st</sup> Ayden Anderson – 2<sup>nd</sup> Colton Cass  $-2^{nd}$ Garrett Leesman – 2<sup>nd</sup> Tyrone Oldenkamp – 2<sup>nd</sup> Tyson Nemec – 2<sup>nd</sup> Jayce Anderson  $-3^{rd}$ Matthew King  $-3^{rd}$ Ridge Leimbach  $-3^{rd}$ Spencer Davis – 3<sup>rd</sup> Tristen Nemec  $-3^{rd}$ Zachary Oldenkamp – 3<sup>rd</sup> Robert Arnold – 4<sup>th</sup> Tyler Johnson – 4<sup>th</sup>