Youth Wrestlers Continue Preparing for Postseason

As the Governor Wrestling program progresses toward the conclusion of their season. local youth wrestlers have continued to experience various levels of success at tournaments throughout the state. On February 12th, 76 members of the Pierre youth wrestling program competed at the annual Pierre Invitational hosted.

A total of 392 wrestlers competed at the event with participants from South Dakota, North Dakota, and Nebraska traveling to compete in Pierre.

A total of 17 wrestlers won individual championships at the invitational competing in 16 man bracket formats. Andrew Snyder, Keith Gorham and Rylan Shrake were champions in the 6 & under division, while Brady Getz, Jayden Wiebe and Noah Williams each won in the 7 & 8 division. The final 11 champions were crowned in the 9 & 10 (Justyce Murphy, Cade Hinkle, Dylan Snyder, Grey Zabel, Jace Bench Bresher) 11 & 12 (Will Turman, Lincoln Turman), and 13 & 14 age division (Austin Senger, Levi Stoltenburg, Lucas Stoltenburg, Michael Lusk).

Paul Turman, president of the youth program, noted "This is the first year that we used the extended bracket format which resulted in a smaller number of individual champions. We feel it helped attracted higher caliber wrestlers from around the



Zane Zilverberg, works to turn his Sturgis opponent in route to a 2^{nd} place finish at the Pierre Youth Wrestling Invitational on February 12^{th} .

state, and gave all our members a better sense for how post-season brackets will work." The club also produced a total of 8 second place, 9 third place, and 5 fourth place finishes, with 8 other wrestlers finishing in the top 8.

On February 19th, 20th, and 21st members traveled to a variety of sites throughout the state to wrestle tournaments in Parkston, Phillip, Mobridge, Miller, Wall, Arlington, and Presho. Across these seven events 34 individual champions were awarded for the club, with a total of 49 wrestlers competing. "I'm very happy where were many of our members are at right now," said Turman. "Traveling to these tournaments, and finding difficult matches should prepare them well for having success once the postseason arrives.

Due to the state high school wrestling tournament, there are limited opportunities for youth wrestlers to compete this coming weekend, but the local district tournament will be hosted in Ft. Pierre on Saturday

March 3rd. Those wrestlers placing in the top 8 at districts will advance to the Region tournament in Miller on March 10th to compete against wrestlers from district 4. Only the top 3 wrestlers then advance to the state tournament. Individual results for Pierre Youth wrestlers over the past two weekends include:

Pierre Invitational

Andrew Snyder – 1st Austin Senger – 1st Brady Getz – 1st Cade Hinkle – 1st Dylan Snyder – 1st $Grey\ Zabel-1^{st}$ Jace Bench Bresher – 1st Jayden Wiebe – 1st Justyce Murphy – 1st Keith Gorham – 1st Levi Stoltenburg – 1st Lincoln Turman – 1st Lucas Stoltenburg – 1st Michael Lusk – 1st Noah Williams – 1st Rylan Shrake – 1st Will Turman – 1st Spencer Davis – 2nd Hayden Shaffer -2^{nd} Lincoln Schoenhard – 2nd Logan Meyer – 2nd Peyton Zabel – 2nd $Tyson\ Johnson-2^{nd}$ Brady Miller $-2^{n\overline{d}}$ Gabe Turman – 2nd Jacob Junk – 2nd Avery Anderson-Boardman – 3rd Gavin Stotts -3^{rd} Jacob Mason – 3rd Jaret Clarke – 3rd Kahlor Hindman – 3rd $Sam\ Slocum - 3^{rd}$ Steven Fullerton – 3rd Ty Paulsen – 3rd

Carston Miller – 3rd

J.R. Mayer -3^{rd}

Harlan Stotts – 4th Jacoby Taylor – 4th Jaxon Jungwirth – 4th Matthew Hostler – 4th Matthew Lusk – 4th Nathan Williams – 4th Matthew King – 5th Tayne Anderson – 5th Cord Ellis – 6th Jacob Larson – 6th Brayden Houlette – 7th Shawn Van Liere – 7th Jadon Anderson-Boardman – 7th Jett Zabel – 8th Spencer Taylor – 8th

Chamberlain

Jace Bench-Bresher – 1st Matthew Hostler – 1st Spencer Sargent – 1st Matthew King -2^{nd} Spencer Davis – 2nd Tristan Spencer – 2nd Tyrone Oldenkamp – 2^{nd}

Miller

Brady Getz – 1st Cord Ellis – 1st Gage Gehring – 1st Tyson Johnson – 1st Maguire Raskie – 1st Jack Van Camp – 1st Will Van Camp – 1st Avery Anderson-Boardman – 2nd Gavin Stotts – 2nd Hayden Shaffer – 2nd Jadon Anderson-Boardman – 2nd Kahlor Hindman – 2nd Tayne Anderson -2^{nd} Gunnar Gehring – 3rd Nick Gray – 3rd Harlin Stotts – 3rd $Hudson\ Shaffer-3^{rd}$

Mobridge

Aric Williams – 1st

Ayden Anderson -1^{st} Brady Miller -1^{st} Carston Miller -1^{st} Ethan Martinmaas -1^{st} Jacoby Taylor -1^{st} Lee Snyder -1^{st} Nathan Williams -1^{st} Noah Williams -1^{st} Jayce Anderson -3^{rd} Spencer Taylor -4^{th}

Parkston & Philip

Cade Hinkle -1^{st} Andrew Snyder -1^{st} Jace Bench-Bresher -1^{st} Cade Hinkle -2^{nd} Dylan Snyder -3^{rd} Tyson Nemec -2^{nd} Tristen Nemec -3^{rd}

Presho

Nick Gray -1^{st} Jack Van Camp -1^{st} Will Van Camp -1^{st} Spencer Davis -1^{st} Easton Swartz -3^{rd}

Wall

Gabe Turman -1^{st} Lincoln Turman -1^{st} Michael Lusk -1^{st} Pryce Dyk -1^{st} Blake Judson -1^{st} Grant Judson -1^{st} Spencer Sarringar -1^{st} William Turman -1^{st} Andrew Snyder -2^{nd} Shawn Van Liere -2^{nd} Tyson Nemec -2^{nd} Dylan Snyder -3^{rd} Matthew Lusk -3^{rd} Tristen Nemec -5^{th}