### Pierre Youth Wrestlers Perform Well at State

Over the past weekend, 48 members of the Pierre Youth Wrestling program competed in the State AAU Wrestling tournament held at the Rapid City Civic Center. Over the course of the two day event participants from throughout the state wrestled in one of six age groups to award individual state titles. The final placing rounds concluded on Sunday morning with 33 Pierre Youth Wrestlers placing in the top 8 at the event.

Ten wrestlers advanced to the championship match in their

weight class and seven state champions were crowned by the end of the day Sunday. Noah Williams and Dawson Monfore both repeated at state champions for the club, and Michael Lusk and Jebben Keyes (who were runner-ups last year) both added a second state title to their list of accomplishments. Austin Senger and Gavin Stotts both won their first state championship, but the most emotional state title was awarded to Brooks



State place winners for the Pierre Youth Wrestling program from left to right include: Front Row – Jace Bench Bresher, Gavin Stotts, Kahlor Hindman, Gabe Turman, Jayden Wiebe, Blake Judson, Hayden Shaffer, Noah Williams, Tyson Johnson, and Matthew Lusk. Middle Row – Garrett Leesman, Cade Hinkle, JR Mayer, Grey Zabel, Lincoln Turman, Austin Senger, Michael Lusk, William Turman, Maguire Raske, Gunnar Gehring, and Spencer Sarringar. Back Row – Peyton Zabel, Chase Harmon, Ty Paulsen, Alec Williams, Dawson Monfore, Wyatt Leesman, Lucas Stoltenburg, Nick Wiebe, Zane Zilverberg, and Brooks Monfore.

Monfore who competed for the first time since overcoming a battle with Leukemia this past year. "Brooks was one of only two state champions the club had two years ago, but then was diagnosed with Leukemia in the Fall of 2009 and underwent treatment for more than a year," said Paul Turman president of the youth wrestling program. "He was able to begin practicing again about two months ago and felt well enough to

compete during the postseason tournaments. It was exciting and very emotional to watch him overcome that challenge to come back and wrestle to win a state championship." When also considering Tanner Monfore, all three Monfore's earned state titles this year as Tanner had became only the second freshmen from Pierre to



Individual state champions for the Pierre Youth Wrestling program from left to right include: Austin Senger, Jebben Keyes, Noah Williams, Dawson Monfore, Gavin Stotts, Brooks Monfore and Michael Lusk.

win a State High School Championship less than a month ago.

Along with those wrestling in the championship matches, 13 others advanced to the consolation match with six eventually placing third. The Pierre Wrestling program produced the highest number of place winners compared to all other programs in the state and was only matched in the number of individual state champions by Brookings. Head wrestling coach

Ryan Noyes noted that "Pierre has become accustomed to placing more kids than many of the larger programs bring to the event." Clubs from Rapid City Central and Stevens, Watertown, and Aberdeen clubs each advance fewer than 20 kids to the tournament, and Sturgis which is one of the largest youth programs advanced 32. "Over the past 3-4 years we have had 20 or more kids place in the top four and it further demonstrates how strong our wrestling program from kindergarden to high school has become," he said. Now that the folkstyle season has concluded, the club will turn its attention to competing at Greco-Roman and Freestyle during the next three weeks in preparation of the upcoming USA State Tournament. Individual place winners for the club this past weekend include:

### **State Champions**

- 1. Gavin Stotts
- 2. Noah Williams
- 3. Michael Lusk
- 4. Austin Senger
- 5. Jebben Keyes
- 6. Dawson Monfore
- 7. Brookes Monfore

#### State Runner-Ups

1. Jace Bench-Bresher



Austin Senger defends against a takedown by Kyle Tulowetzke from Watertown in the closing seconds of his state championship match. Senger went on to win his first state tournament title this past weekend.

- 2. JR Mayer
- 3. Spencer Sarringar

# 3<sup>rd</sup> Place

- 1. Gabe Turman
- 2. Will Turman
- 3. Zane Zilverberg
- 4. Chase Harmon
- 5. Wyatt Leesman
- 6. Alec Williams

# 4<sup>th</sup> Place

- 1. Blake Judson
- 2. Hayden Shaffer
- 3. Cade Hinkle
- 4. Matthew Lusk
- 5. Maguire Raske
- 6. Lincoln Turman
- 7. Nick Wiebe

# 5<sup>th</sup> Place

- 1. Tyson Johnson
- 2. Grey Zabel
- 3. Garrett Leesman

#### 6<sup>th</sup> Place

- 1. Gunnar Gehring
- 2. Lucas Stoltenburg
- 3. Quinn Reimers

#### 7<sup>th</sup>

- 1. Kahlor Hindman
- 2. Peyton Zabel

- Jayden Wiebe
  Ty Paulsen